Search Issues in ODP Since 2009

Discussion in 'General ODP Issues' started by ForexAbode, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. ForexAbode

    ForexAbode Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Since 2009 Our site <URL removed> has been listed under Business: Investing: Commodities and Futures: Forex: Research and Analysis.

    Till today if someone searches for this site by the name or the URL, it does not appear in the searches as other sites do.

    Best regards
  2. jimnoble

    jimnoble DMOZ Meta RZ Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    18,914
    Location:
    Southern England
    Our search is a tad buggy at the moment and AOL, who maintain it, are aware of the situation.

    Fortunately, it's primarily intended to find an appropriate category from keywords, not to check whether or where some particular website is listed; editors use other tools for that.
  3. ForexAbode

    ForexAbode Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks for the reply. The point is that this situation is there since 2009 and all the previous responses since 2009 have been similar.
    Second point is that all the earlier listed websites do come up in the searches by their website names. It becomes a bit uncomfortable by comparision. If someone tries to check your website if it is listed in dmoz or not then again we are at disadvantage.
  4. windharp

    windharp DMOZ Meta DMOZ Meta

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    9,206
    While we agree that this is uncomfortable, there sadly is nothing we can do about it, that's why our answer stays the same. Managing the software is completely out of our reach, it's in the hand of AOL employees.
  5. jimnoble

    jimnoble DMOZ Meta RZ Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    18,914
    Location:
    Southern England
    Do users often do that then? I've only ever seen anxious website owners complain about the issue.

    Bottom line is this. If a user already knows your URL, your promotional activities must be working :).
  6. isoosi

    isoosi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    one of the issues is that a lot of tools use that search function to see if a website is listed or not.

    Google even uses the record in the search function as opposed to what is in the category.

    I can provide a specific example of this for any admin who wants to try to solve this issue that I have been emailing people about for over 2.5 years.
  7. jimnoble

    jimnoble DMOZ Meta RZ Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    18,914
    Location:
    Southern England
    We have some problems with our search.
    None of our editors/metas/admins has access to the code.
    AOL's staff, who do have code access, have been made aware of the problems for some considerable time.
    AOL's staff is hard pressed and has many priorities. This issue, so far, hasn't been one of them.
    In short, please be patient as we editors have to be.

    As to Google, we have no control over what our downstream data users do with our freely and publicly available data or how often they access it. However, our search database isn't freely available to them AFAIK.
  8. photofox

    photofox DMOZ Admin RZ Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,104
    Location:
    [Right here]
    As I mentioned elsewhere, the search function does not use the RDF anymore and as Jim mentioned the new search database is not available for download. So I don't understand what you mean by "Google even uses the record in the search function"...

Share This Page