Captcha image not working on submit a link page

Discussion in 'Bugs and Features' started by JohnnyDMonic, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. JohnnyDMonic

    JohnnyDMonic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,

    I tried a few months ago to list my site on DMOZ but the captcha image wouldn't display at all. Apparently from reading some things I found on the net, there is supposed to be a link to an audio version but I can't see this either. I tried again today but it still doesn't show up.

    Interestingly, the captcha for when you sign up to the forum works perfectly.

    Does anyone have any suggestions how to get it to work? I am using IE8 on windows XP. (it also doesn't work using compatibilty view)
     
  2. photofox

    photofox DMOZ Admin RZ Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,106
    Location:
    [Right here]
    I'm guessing it's a browser compatibility issue. I've just tried to suggest a site using Firefox and Safari - the Captcha image displays fine on both. Can you try using a different browser?
     
  3. Elper

    Elper DMOZ Admin RZ Admin

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,058
    Just to check, you are starting from a dmoz.org address like http://www.dmoz.org/Some/Random/Category ?
     
  4. JohnnyDMonic

    JohnnyDMonic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,

    Thanks for the suggestions. Elper - Yes, starting from just browsing the category. photofox - Tried using Firefox and no luck either.

    Does anyone know if the captcha mechanism uses some kind of weird technology/protocol that may be blocked by my firewall (Draytek 2820)?
     
  5. photofox

    photofox DMOZ Admin RZ Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,106
    Location:
    [Right here]
    I don't believe so, the images come from AOL.com. Have you tried clearing cookies and browser cache?
     
  6. Elper

    Elper DMOZ Admin RZ Admin

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,058
    There might be a "security" issue, as the captcha picture is served from a secure server (https) on an non-secured page - it's also in .jpeg format rather than .jpg but normally these are interchangeable.
    For the first, the browser/firewall should issue a warning like "do you wish to see both secured / non-secured information on this page"
    For the second, find a random .jpeg image example and see if your browser displays it.
    Hope this helps.
    :)
     

Share This Page