Resource-Zone: The same website with different domain names - Resource-Zone

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

The same website with different domain names Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   lalalali 

  • Member
  • Group: Inactive
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 29-February 04

Posted 15 January 2007 - 07:45 AM

I dont like to report websites or webmasters, but there is something that is bugging me a bit as it is almost criminal in my opinion.

There is a dating site called loopylove.com....and another one that is called pocado.com

They remind me of each other and I had the feeling it is exactly the same website. However they do not tell you on the terms and conditions, of course...but it is the same company behind them.

So when you register on pocado.com, you end up in the same database.

One way to find out, is the path to the uploaded user pictures:

http://images.loopyl...42CB4BE9B53.jpg

http://images.pocado...42CB4BE9B53.jpg

Usually I would not care about it....but I do because of the following personal reasons:

- I have created a profile on there and it is hard to get it removed
- i receive faked messages once in a while - but I can not read them unless I pay a membership fee

- there are a lot of other good dating sites that never really made it into Dmoz - but Pocado is not worth being listed as it has no original content itself. I know you try to keep the directory short instead of listing everything - but either all good sites are listed or all. but if you are interested in quality only listen one of those 2 websites - in doubt the one with most visitors (loopylove).

Or what do you think of it

I personally would try to list as many as possible, just in order to find them all on the Alexa website so see which one is most popular...sometimes the ones with a lot of traffic are not listed - and if you only look on Alexa you might accidentally miss good ones.

But this is just my 2 cent!

#2 User is offline   gboisseau 

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Inactive
  • Posts: 508
  • Joined: 06-May 04

Posted 15 January 2007 - 05:19 PM

Thanks for pointing this out. There is many more sites that are mirrors of these that you mentioned (same content and owned by the same company). They will be dealt with. While we can not be the internet police, we do look for unique content. The actual company website (which is not here) is the only listable one.

Thanks again. :)

#3 User is offline   maila 

  • Member
  • Group: Inactive
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 01-January 07

Posted 23 January 2007 - 02:02 PM

There are two mirror sites are listed on dmoz
www.volunteerinternshipnepal.org www.vsnnepal.org
and
www.hopenhome.org and webnepal.com/infonepal

#4 User is offline   lalalali 

  • Member
  • Group: Inactive
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 29-February 04

Posted 24 May 2007 - 03:41 PM

Loopylove is back again as Quickflirt.com on DMOZ.

The suspicious thing about it is how fast they manage to get included again on DMOZ with a new domain name (and same site).

Is it possible it belongs to some DMOZ editor ?

Usually webmasters have to wait for months or years - and some never even make it to DMOZ ......

#5 User is offline   wing 

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Inactive
  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: 13-May 07
  • Editor Namewing

Posted 24 May 2007 - 03:52 PM

lalalali said:

Loopylove is back again as Quickflirt.com on DMOZ.

The suspicious thing about it is how fast they manage to get included again on DMOZ with a new domain name (and same site).

Is it possible it belongs to some DMOZ editor ?


I suppose anything is possible, but perhaps it's more likely that they submitted all three at the same time and the one you mentioned only just got reviewed? I suppose corruption is possible but not the only possibility and not the most likely. Of course, if you suspect otherwise you're welcome to submit an abuse report so that it can be investigated.
wing
Profile | Blog

#6 User is offline   massage parlour 

  • Member
  • Group: Inactive
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 21-June 07

Posted 11 July 2007 - 01:22 PM

lalalali said:

There is a dating site called loopylove.com....and another one that is called pocado.com



I have also met pacado in my site under this contact me now logo, which is ours. They really do not worth to be taken into consideration, but they are persistent indeed. How can I enter Dmoz, by-the-way?

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


Copyright © 2002 - 2010 Contributing ODP editors - All Rights Reserved.
This site is in no way affiliated with Netscape Communications Corporation. This site is here as a service to directory users and is maintained by a group of editors.